State Society Officers


K. James Taylor, Jr., P.E.
K. James Taylor, Jr., P.E.President
James Taylor graduated with bachelor’s in civil engineering and is licensed as a professional engineer (PE). He has over 12 years of in both land development and municipal fields in Delaware and Maryland. James is a Project Manager at Duffield Associate, where he earned the 2017 Employees' Choice Award.

Kate Smagala, P.E.
Kate Smagala, P.E.Board Secretary
Kate Smagala is a licensed Civil Engineer in Delaware working for Century Engineering. Kate is also involved with the Eweek Banquet Committee and MATHCOUNTS. She is an Alumnae Member of Alpha Omega Epsilon (AOE, Engineering and Technical Sciences), and a First State Member of American Society of Highway Engineers (ASHE).

Erik Hughes, P.E.
Erik Hughes, P.E.Treasurer
Erick Hughes works for AECOM as a licensed Civil Engineer in Delaware. Erik graduated from Bucknell University